Tags

, ,

This is what I am doing at the moment.

This morning we had mommy and me @ the park at 10. We got home at 11:45, it is now 12:15. I’ve been parked in the car port with him still buckled in behind me. The last 3 weeks have been 3 LONG weeks of NO NAPPING. A few weeks ago he just STOPPED NAPPING! I went from laying him down twice a day for a 1 1/2 to 2 hour naps to ZIP! The first week I tried the “crying it out method” everyday – for 7 days – with no success. Up to 4 hours a day. He just cried and cried and CRIED! Finally after torturing myself for a week I tried laying down with him. nope. nothing. rocking, nothing. singing, nothing. calling it quiet time. nada!

So today when he fell asleep I decided to stay in the car, go inside grab my notepad & my laptop and have some peace and quiet. My neighbors probably think I’m crazy.

Yesterday I let him cry for an hour in his bed again… I read to him, gave him a few of his favorite books and bears to have with him in his crib then walked out. No sleeping. After only an hour of crying at 2:45 he fell asleep the second I picked him up. I held him while he napped for nearly 2 hours. As much as I love my baby boy, I need him to go back to sleeping on his own.

Yesterday sleeping on me. Today taking advantage of him falling asleep in the car seat… Perhaps this makes me a bad mom, but I’m thinking no. Instead I’m just surviving the afternoon.

I just don’t know what else to try at this point. Everyone continues to say that crying it out is the best method. When he was 7 months old I let him cry it out twice a day in his crib for an entire week…he never took a nap. not one time! This was the same thing this time around. I am positive I have a strong willed child.

The last few days I have been playing with him alot in his room while he is in his crib. Reading to him for 30 minutes two times a day, while he sits in his bed. He is not crying anymore, instead whimpering…. that is a BIG Improvement! I do not leave the room either. Instead just stand there. Seems to be working a little better.

Thoughts? Suggestions? All are welcomed!

~brit

 

