Tags

,

This week in Texas we are experiencing a tiny cool front. It has been in the 80’s instead of the 100’s which as been delightful! We only had to turn the air on once or twice this weekend. This weekend we finished all of our current DIY projects & we tried out 3 new recipes.

About a month ago I was browsing around a thrift shop and I came across two pieces of furniture that had so much potential. I’ve had a vision of exactly the way I want both living areas to look like since we moved in, but because money does in fact NOT grow on trees, it will take us a while to reach my vision. I snapped these pictures below & sent them to Johnny to get his approval before I bought them! I was able to purchase both of these pieces for $30!! Insane, huh!??? Totally crazy especially considering what they look like now. Here is a sneak peek at them before we did anything to them.

The dresser above is now our entertainment center in our den.

This is an old record player that did not work. It is now in our front room (that has been empty for nearly a year) as the focal point of the room. Johnny now has the radio working & we hope to get the record player functioning soon! Can’t wait to post the after pictures soon. Both pieces look so great & our back den is finally coming together.

Anyhoo.. so I am loving pinterest if you have not discovered this website you should really check it out by clicking here. I have a board called, Now this looks good, where I keep adding new recipes to eventually try out. This weekend I decided to try making  whoopie pies  & a marinated cucumber salad.

The women’s ministry @ our church was hosting a bake sale to support missions & ladies were asked to bake their favorite pies to be sold on Sunday. I thought it would be fun to make Whoopie Pies. The only thing was I didn’t want to have to buy a million ingredients to make the really yummy whoopies from scratch, so I opted for an “easy” recipe. I used pinterest to find this recipe here.

for the Easy Whoopie Pie Recipe you will need:

  1. 1 Chocolate Cake Mix
  2. 1/2 cup water
  3. 1/2 cup oil
  4. 3 eggs
  5. parchment paper to line cookie baking sheet
Mix it all up and put the oven on 400. I used a tablespoon to drop the mix onto the parchment paper. Also I took a butter knife to swirl them into a nice little circle before popping them into the oven.
I baked them for 10 minutes. Watch them closely, I baked a few at first for 8 minutes, took them out, and they just looked odd. So the next ones I did for 10 minutes & they looked very whoopie pieish!
I decided to follow the recipe for the filling that is posted with this recipe for the whoopie pies. Next time I will make a different filling because I followed the recipe listed here but it was way too buttery for me.
The Filling I used calls for:
2 sticks butter softened
3-4 cups of powered sugar
** I had to add an extra 1 1/2 cups of powered sugar, 1 1/2 tablespoons of whipping cream, and 1 teaspoon of vanilla to make it taste good (to me). If you like things a little more buttery then don’t add the extras like I did.
I let the cookies sit overnight then the next day I used a pastry bag to make the cookies into sandwiches, boxed them up,  stuck cute little labels on them for the bake sale.
It was fun to make these. I only kept 2 back for us to have, because these are things that will be eaten way too quickly & I will regret every bite when my jeans feel snug a few days later. ha!
We were having a friend over for lunch after church on Sunday and Johnny decided to grill a whole chicken! Something he has never done before. He marinated a whole chicken for 15 hours in worcestershire sauce & beer cane seasoning. Then next day he fired up the grill with the chicken on it (cut the whole chicken to lay flat on the grill) for about 45 minutes. Took it off & we all enjoyed the yumminess! Even Noah too! Seriously, probably the best chicken I’ve ever had! (sorry daddy!) We enjoyed the yummy chicken with a cucumber salad that I made the night before.
I followed this recipe here for a cucumber salad that I found on pinterest. Click the link to follow her recipe exactly. The one below is almost exactly like hers but just a few little changes that I made.
Marinated Cucumber Salad Recipe
3 Large cucumbers
1 medium red onion
1 large tomato
1 cup water
1 1/2 cups white vinegar
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
3 teaspoons of sugar
1 teaspoon cracker pepper
3 ounces feta cheese
First, Thinly slice the cucumbers, onion, and tomato & then I like to make them into bite size pieces, makes it easier to eat!
Look at these beautiful colors!
2nd Step, Throw all of this & the rest of the ingredients except for the cheese into a pretty fall pan (i forgot to take of picture), cover with lid or foil and marinate in the fridge overnight.
Take it out the next day for lunch & enjoy with feta cheese on top!
YUM!!!
This weekend was filled with lots of yummy food, finishing up our DIY projects, & relaxing as a family. This was the best weekend we’ve had in a very long time.
We are almost done cleaning up the back porch from our DIY project mess. here is a picture of my man & sweet baby relaxing…
Noah Reading about Noah’s Ark ….
I’m thankful that my sweet boy loves to read. Every Single morning I hear “A book a book a book” first thing as he points to his overflowing bookshelf!!
🙂
