2 Scriptures that I am soaking in today:

  • Proverbs 16:3 “Commit your actions to the Lord and your plans will succeed” (NLT)
  • Proverbs 16:15 “When the king smiles, there is life; his favor refreshes like a spring rain” (NLT)
This morning God totally directed to both of these scriptures. I have just been reading each of them over and over again & meditating on them all morning.

Today’s confession: I want to be a good steward of my time & the tasks that God has for me. I don’t want to waste time thinking I’ll do things later, but then later turns into tomorrow. Over the last few months I have really been convicted about saying “later” but then later turns into “late” or even worse, “never”. I often make excuses for not doing the things that I know I either want to do, need to get done, or I know that God wants me to do. Even the little tasks such as cleaning off the back porch after a project needs to be done instead of saying I’ll do it later.

However, the little things like cleaning up here and there are not really what I’m referring to. I’m a mommy & I enjoy letting Noah make messes while I make a mess with a project myself. It is the way of life I choose to have because I know it is important that we make sweet memories rather than me being a crazy cleaning lady all day & afraid to let him play because the house might get messy. If we go to bed with the kitchen not totally tidied up, we will live…somehow. The sun will come up the next day & I can put the things away then.

The bigger things such as praying when I know that God has quickened my heart at that very moment, visiting with someone he has laid on my heart, or volunteering somewhere in the community but instead I wait until later. These are the things I know I need to not wait around on. For me, one of the worst feelings is knowing that God wanted me to pray about something right then and there and then doing it later. It is the worst feeling.

I know I’m not the only one that probably tends to live in the, “I’ll do it later category” but I just don’t want to be a member of that club anymore. Sorry friends. I also realize that just saying that I don’t want to me a member doesn’t automatically mean that I no longer attend the daily meetings; instead I have to make the choice to not go. Meaning I have to make the choice to complete tasks in the moment. I am a realist. I totally understand that this is a big habit to break so more than likely I will have many more slip ups of saying later. That is okay. I just don’t want to accidentally end up allowing all the slip ups to become a lifestyle.

 A lifestyle that I do not want. More importantly, a lifestyle that God has not intended for me to have. God loves me & wants the best for me. He wants to have an ongoing relationship with me and He wants me to grow in His ways. He doesn’t want me to remain at the same place (spiritually speaking) that I am today a year from now. A huge way that we grow in the Lord is by listening & obeying. If I am not listening & obeying to what He has for me then am I serving Him the way I should be? Am I able to grow, despite not listening to Him? Probably not going to happen.

I just wanted to share what has been on my heart. I am thankful for a God that loves me enough to bring the things within me that I need to change to the forefront of my life. I have no intentions of never saying “later” again, however I want to do it a lot less often & listen and obey God in the moment.

~brit

